The Hare Trilogy: By our very own Dennis Hamley

Monday, December 2nd, 2019

A most moving and sensitive animal fantasy.’

Richard Adams, author of Watership Down.



‘Things aren’t untrue just because they never happened.’



Hare’s Choice, Badger’s Fate, Hawk’s Vision


Dennis Hamley




The Hare Trilogy is an omnibus edition of three short novels for children, first published by Andre Deutsch and Scholastic between 1988 and 1993. They were aimed mainly at children between the ages of 8 to 13. I think they are the best things I have ever written.


They are not intended for children only. They are a meditation at an adult level asking the questions, ‘What is truth? Can stories be ‘true? If so, how?’’


The last thirty years have been crucial for education. The Hare Trilogy now reads like a manifesto, pitting primary schools then against primary schools now, asking what is lost, whether the values which replace it are better and coming to a decisive answer.

 Buy on Amazon:





100 Best books you have to read before you die.

Sunday, December 1st, 2019

Cherry Mosteshar, our Director, adds Françoise Sagan’s Bonjour Tristesse